Snapchat is a social media platform where users can send and receive messages as well as images and videos to their friends. It was primarily because of the app’s various privacy settings that it attracted users’ attention. Unless they are not saved in the chat, Snapchat users would be able to have conversations that will eventually be deleted after some time.
Snapchat has gone a long way, since its inauspicious beginnings as a photo-sharing app. Although the app’s functionality remains largely unchanged, Snapchat introduces new features that can be confusing with each update.
Many users find Snapchat’s use of emojis and feature like scores to be confusing, but the app continues to work on improving. Snapchat has many unique features, one of which is the secret code language that its users use. It has different symbols and codes for words which makes it difficult to understand the users. One such code is ‘X’. Many people are confused and want to know what does the x mean on Snapchat.
What Does an X Mean on Snapchat?
The reasons may be one of the following.
- You can see X if someone has removed you as their friend. You can still chat with them even if they have removed you.
- If you are unadded as a friend.
- Secondly, if the user has blocked you. If you are blocked, then any messages you send to them remain undelivered.
These are the reasons why you are seeing a grey X next to Snapchat name.
Related: What Does KMS Mean on Snapchat
What Does the X Mean on Snapchat Next to Name?
There are a few potential explanations for why someone’s Snapchat name can have an X next to it. The most likely explanation is also the most straightforward: they issued you a friend request, which you have not yet accepted.
By clicking on the name, you can quickly determine if this is the case. You will be presented with a prompt at which you can choose to accept or decline the friend request. On clicking the X you will see three options to block, report or delete the whole chat.
Another reason why you are seeing the grey X could be that the person has blocked you or removed you from their friends. However, wait before you assume anything the X does not always indicate that you have been blocked. Sometimes, it indicates that the person is in your contacts but you have not added them as your friend.
Additionally, some users notice the X because they have never sent or received snaps with the other user.
In the end, the X simply indicates that you have never communicated on the app or that you are not actually on each other’s friends list. These are the possible reasons that what does the x mean on Snapchat.
Read Also: How to subscribe to Snapchat Premium?
How to Remove the X on Snapchat?
If you want to remove the X on Snapchat, follow these steps.
- First, check to see if they have been added to your friend list. Add them if they are not already added.
- Second, you can remove their chat completely to get rid of the X icon.
- You can ask another person to unblock you on Snapchat if they have blocked you, but you have to do this on a different platform as you can not send them any message on Snapchat while you are blocked.
After you have completed the above-mentioned steps, the grey “X” icon will, lastly, be removed. Snapchat might need to be relaunched again, though. However, this varies from device to device.
Read Also: How Does Snapchat Score Work
What does the little x mean on Snapchat?
1. If someone has unfriended you, you will notice an X. Even if they have deleted you, you may still talk with them.
2. If you have not been added as a friend.
3. Check to see whether the user has blocked you. If you are banned, all communications you send to them will go unanswered.
What does GREY X on Snapchat mean?
The gray ‘X’ on Snapchat indicates that someone has sent you a friend request, but you haven’t accepted it yet. It serves as a reminder that there is a pending friend request from that person. Once you accept the friend request, the gray ‘X’ will disappear, and you will be connected on Snapchat.
How do you know if someone Unadded you on Snapchat?
There are a few indirect signs that may suggest someone has unadded you:
1. Score Changes: If the person was a frequent sender of snaps, and you notice a sudden decrease in your Snapchat score, it could be an indication that they have either unadded you or stopped sending snaps.
2. Snaps and Stories Visibility: If you can no longer see their snaps or stories in your feed, it might mean that they have either adjusted their privacy settings, blocked you, or removed you as a friend.
3. Chat Availability: If you are unable to send them snaps or messages, it could be a sign that they have restricted their settings or removed you.
What happens if you send a Snap to someone who deleted you?
If you send a Snap to someone who has deleted or removed you on Snapchat, the message will show as pending and will not be sent successfully. Even though you can still see that user’s profile and access your saved conversations, any new messages or snaps sent after being removed will not reach the recipient. The status of the message will remain pending until the person adds you back or re-establishes the connection. Until then, the communication attempt remains unsuccessful.
In conclusion, the X on Snapchat represents the action of either blocking or unblocking a user. When a user blocks another user, their name will appear with an X next to it, indicating that they are blocked. This feature allows users to have more control over who they interact with on the platform and provides a way to manage their privacy settings.
Those who did not anticipate losing a close friend may be surprised or shocked by the Snapchat “X” icon. Please take this as a warning and get in touch with these individuals before it’s too late.